New agreement with film organisations: TF1 wants to play a major role in French cinema and in the future media chronology

01/10/2021

TF1 announced on 19 July the signing of an unprecedented agreement with eleven film organisations based on those signed until now mainly by the Canal + channel. It paves the way for the preparation of the new agreement on the media chronology, allowing the public to access works more quickly.

A TF1 press release states that “This balanced agreement is in line with the transformation of our ecosystem and the ongoing modernisation of our regulatory framework (…) It also reflects the relationship of trust between the TF1 group and the film industry, and their commitment to supporting French and European film creation in all its diversity[1]

This agreement translates into:

a) An increase in investment for French and European creation

The TF1 group undertakes to increase investment in pre-purchases (before they are made) and purchases in favour of French and European film creation. The share devoted to the obligations has been increased to 3.5% (i.e. an increase of 0.3%) of the total net turnover of the TF1, TMC, TFX and TF1 Séries Films channels (47.5 million for the 2020 figures).

The obligation will now be mutualised across all channels and TF1 will be able to devote up to 20% of the total it must invest in the purchase of French or European film rights. The group is also complying with more important diversity rules and will finance an average of 17 films per year in pre-purchase for all the group’s channels, instead of 14.

b) Greater flexibility in the broadcasting of works

TF1 has also been granted multi-broadcasting rights, as well as a more advantageous circulation option for works between its different channels. The group will also be able, for the first time, to offer pre-financed films on catch-up television (replay) for a maximum period of seven days. A film will have the possibility of two broadcasts over a period of 30 days

The terms of these replay services, an option hitherto reserved for Arte and France Télévisions, have not yet been fully defined but the channel has already decided that it must be a paying service.

All this will take a few years to materialise on our screens because it only concerns films that have not yet been released in cinemas. As required by the media chronology legislation, TF1 will then have to wait 22 months after their release to broadcast them.

The agreement may be terminated if TF1 and the other free channels do not obtain the right to broadcast a film during its exclusivity window in the future media chronology under discussion, which is intended to bring platforms such as Netflix, Amazon Prime and Disney+ into the French system. All this will become clearer in the light of the proposed merger between TF1 and M6 [2].

By the UGGC Avocats IP/IT team

Sources:

TF1 press release

KHAYAT, Corine, and PECORARO, Anne-Marie, Fusion TF1-M6 : Le prochain défi des autorités de régulation, Fusions-Acquisitions, 2021.

Les Echos : TF1 signs its first agreement with the French film industry

[1] TF1 press release

[2] See https://www.uggc.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/fusion-tf1-m6-le-prochain-defi-des-autorites-de-regulation-par-corinne-khayat-associee-et-anne-marie-pecoraro.pdf

Cannes 2022: "Transposition of the AVMS Directive", with Anne-Marie Pecoraro, Corinne Khayat and Rodolphe Boissau

IP-IT-Media
After a 73rd virtual edition because of Covid-19 and a 74th edition shifted in July to be organized in person despite the pandemic, the 75th edition of the Cannes Film…

The European Commission adopts a proposal for a Data Act

IP-IT-Media
Watches, thermostats, lights, cameras, TVs, robots, scales… these objects all have in common that they present versions of themselves in so-called connected object versions; and the list is not exhaustive,…

The transfer of audiovisual catalogs

IP-IT-Media
The law n° 2021-1382 of October 25, 2021 relating to the regulation and protection of access to cultural works in the digital era has brought some changes that reinforce the…

Nouvel accord avec les organisations cinéma : TF1 veut jouer un rôle majeur dans le cinéma français et dans la future chronologie des médias

01/10/2021

TF1 a annoncé le 19 juillet la signature d’un accord inédit avec onze organisations du cinéma sur le modèle de ceux signés jusqu’à présent principalement par la chaîne Canal +. Il ouvre la voie à la préparation du nouvel accord sur la chronologie des médias, permettant au public d’accéder plus rapidement aux œuvres.

Un communiqué de TF1 indique que « Cet accord équilibré s’inscrit dans le contexte de transformation de notre écosystème, et de modernisation en cours de notre cadre réglementaire (…) Il reflète également la relation de confiance qui unit le groupe TF1 et le monde du cinéma, leur engagement afin de soutenir la création cinématographique française et européenne, dans toute sa diversité « [1]

Cet accord se traduit par :

a) Une augmentation des investissements pour la création française et européenne

Le groupe TF1 s’engage à augmenter les investissements en préachats (avant leur réalisation) et achats en faveur de la création cinématographique française et européenne. La part consacrée aux obligations est portée à 3,5% (soit une augmentation de 0,3%) du chiffre d’affaires global net éditeur des chaînes TF1, TMC, TFX et TF1 Séries Films (47,5 millions au titre des chiffres 2020).

L’obligation sera désormais mutualisée sur l’ensemble des chaînes et TF1 pourra consacrer jusqu’à 20% du total qu’il doit investir à des achats de droits de diffusion de films français ou européens. Le groupe se plie également à des règles de diversité plus importantes et financera en préachat en moyenne 17 films par an pour l’ensemble des chaînes du groupe, au lieu de 14.

b) Des assouplissements dans la diffusion des œuvres

TF1 se voit également obtenir des droits de multidiffusion, ainsi qu’une faculté de circulation plus avantageuse des œuvres entre ses différentes chaînes. Le groupe pourra également et pour la première fois, proposer les films pré-financés en télévision de rattrapage (replay) pour une durée maximum de sept jours. Un film aura la possibilité d’avoir deux diffusions sur une période de 30 jours

Les modalités de ces services de replay, une option jusqu’alors réservée à Arte et France Télévisions, n’ont pas encore été totalement définies mais la chaîne a déjà acté qu’il fallait que ce soit dans un service payant.

Tout cela prendra quelques années à se matérialiser sur nos écrans car ne sont concernés que des films qui ne sont pas encore sortis en salles. Comme l’oblige la législation sur la chronologie des médias, TF1 devra ensuite attendre 22 mois après leur sortie pour les diffuser.

L’accord peut d’ailleurs être dénoncé si TF1 et les autres chaînes gratuites n’obtiennent pas d’être les seules à pouvoir diffuser un film pendant sa fenêtre d’exclusivité dans la future chronologie des médias en discussion et destinée à faire entrer les plateformes comme Netflix, Amazon Prime et Disney + dans le système français. Tout ceci se précisera à la lumière du projet de fusion entre TF1 et M6 [2].

UGGC - Image1

Par l’équipe IP/IT du cabinet UGGC Avocats

Sources :

Communiqué de presse TF1 : KHAYAT, Corine, et PECORARO, Anne-Marie, Fusion TF1-M6 : Le prochain défi des autorités de régulation, Fusions-Acquisitions, 2021.

Les échos : TF1 signe son premier accord avec la filière cinéma française

[1] Communiqué de presse de TF1

[2] Voir à ce sujet https://www.uggc.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/fusion-tf1-m6-le-prochain-defi-des-autorites-de-regulation-par-corinne-khayat-associee-et-anne-marie-pecoraro.pdf

La cession des catalogues audiovisuels

IP-IT-Médias
La loi n° 2021-1382 du 25 octobre 2021 relative à la régulation et à la protection de l'accès aux œuvres culturelles à l'ère numérique a apporté certaines évolutions qui viennent…

La Commission européenne adopte une proposition de Data Act 

IP-IT-Médias
Montres, thermostats, éclairages, caméras, téléviseurs, robots, balances… ces objets ont tous en commun de présenter des déclinaisons d’eux-mêmes dans des versions dites d’objets connectés ; et la liste n’est pas limitative,…

Episode 3 : droit des marques et présidentielles

IP-IT-Médias
Le Cabinet UGGC Avocats se propose de décrypter la campagne présidentielle sous le prisme de la propriété intellectuelle et des données personnelles, à raison d’un épisode, tous les 15 jours. 3ème épisode : Droit des marques et présidentielles Pour…