IP-IT

Intellectual property

From the onset in 1993, UGGC Avocats created a team dedicated to matters relating to intellectual property, IT and the Internet.  This competence unit is organized around specialist lawyers covering, both as consultants and in litigation, all aspects of intellectual property, new technologies and data processing. 

Trademark law

UGGC Avocats helps and advises its clients in the development of their protection strategy for their trademarks, according to their field of activity and their desired geographical expansion.  From the filing of trademarks, relying in particular on their Shanghai office, through the management of oppositions, nullity or cancellation law suits and the drafting of operation agreements (assignment, licence, coexistence, franchise), UGGC Avocats is present at its clients’ side, in France and internationally, to ensure the protection of their trademarks all along the value chain.

UGGC Avocats also assists its clients by dealing with civil and criminal infringement law suits, which often prove complex when it comes to infringement on the Internet and violation of distribution networks.  Our firm assists significant operators in the fashion, watchmaking, cosmetics and foodstuff distribution sectors in particular, and it is currently dealing with proceedings for the restitution of domain names (UDRP & Syreli).

Our firm also deals with disputes arising from the contesting of trademark registrations both before French and Community courts (EUIPO / formerly OHIM and EU General Court) and advises its clients on the implications of the trademark package (2015 updating of European trademark directive and Regulation on community trademarks).

Patent law

UUGC Avocats helps and advises its clients in the negotiation and drafting of licence agreements, patent joint ownership rules, agreements on the remuneration of inventions, as well as in the use of know-how in view of Community exemption regulations in particular, both in the scientific and the pharmaceutical, automobile or agri-food domain

Our firm ensures for its clients the defence of their patents and know-how, dealing with infringement or patent claim law suits in particular, for French and foreign companies in the consumer goods (electronic, beverages) or infrastructure sectors (highways in particular) for instance.

UGGC Avocats also assists its clients with the negotiations and follow-up of research partnerships and to put into practise the results they obtain.

Copyright and design law

Copyrights

With regard to copyright and related rights, the IP-IT team is active in the domain of fashion and accessories creation to assist designers or their employers and patrons (couture houses, jewellery, leather goods…) and defend their copyrights.  The team is also an expert on problems of copyrights protecting works of art issued from public orders (        architecture) or independent artists (sculptures).  In particular, the team has a good practice of contracts for exhibitions of works of art and a good grasp of the copyright issues faced by museums in the management of their collections.

UGGC Avocats also has a good practice and expertise of audio-visual production, image rights and publishing law, and deals with issues of copyright and associated rights.  In the fight against the infringement of copyrights on the Internet, our firm deals with take down notice procedures and implementation of the responsibility of the various providers of online communication services.

Design law

UGGC Avocats assists its clients to register their designs and models and to negotiate the related exploitation contracts (transfer, licence, co-existence) in France, the EU or internationally.  The protection of designs and models and related litigation generally create an opportunity to review the concurrent protection by copyright and 3D trademark law.  This is true for the fashion sector where concurrent protection is frequent but it also concerns industrial designs and models (utensils, table ware, decorative objects, spare parts and connected objects).


Discover our team

IP-IT

Propriété Intellectuelle

UGGC Avocats s’est doté, dès sa création en 1993, d’une équipe dédié aux problématiques de propriété intellectuelle, d’informatique et d’Internet. Ce pôle de compétence est organisé autour d’avocats spécialisés, couvrant, en conseil comme en contentieux, l’ensemble des aspects de la propriété intellectuelle, des nouvelles technologies et de l’exploitation des données.

Droit des marques

UGGC Avocats accompagne ses clients dans la stratégie de protection de leurs marques, selon leur domaine d’activités et l’expansion géographique souhaitable. Du dépôt des marques, en s’appuyant notamment sur son bureau de Shanghai, en passant par la gestion des oppositions, les actions en nullité ou en déchéance et la rédaction des contrats d’exploitation (cession, licence, coexistence, franchise), UGGC Avocats est présent au côté de ses clients, en France comme à l’international, pour assurer la protection de leurs marques tout au long de la chaine de valeur.

UGGC Avocats assiste aussi ses clients en conduisant les actions civiles et pénales en contrefaçon, souvent complexes dans le cas de contrefaçon sur Internet et de violation de réseaux de distribution. Le Cabinet assiste notamment des acteurs importants du secteur de la mode, de l’horlogerie, des cosmétiques, de la distribution de produits alimentaires. Il mène également pour ses clients les procédures en ligne de restitution de Noms de domaine (UDRP et Syreli).

Le Cabinet intervient aussi dans les litiges nés de la contestation d’enregistrement de marques tant devant les instances françaises que communautaires (Office de l’UE pour la propriété intellectuelle/ ex-OHIM et Tribunal de l’Union Européenne). Il conseille ses clients sur les implications du Paquet Communautaire (actualisation en 2015 de la directive européenne sur les marques et du Règlement sur les marques communautaires).

Droit des brevets

UGGC Avocats accompagne ses clients dans la négociation et la rédaction de contrats de licence, de règlements de copropriété de brevets, d’accords sur les rémunérations d’inventions, ainsi que dans l’exploitation de savoir-faire, au regard notamment des règlements d’exemption communautaires, tant dans les domaines scientifiques, que dans le domaine pharmaceutique, de l’automobile ou de l’agro-alimentaire.

Le Cabinet assure pour ses clients la défense de leurs brevets et savoir-faire, notamment dans le cadre d’actions en contrefaçon ou en revendication de brevets, par exemple pour des entreprises françaises et étrangères du secteur des produits de grande consommation (électronique, boissons) ou du secteur des infrastructures (notamment routières).

UGGC Avocats assiste également ses clients dans la négociation et le suivi de partenariats de recherche et la mise œuvre de l’exploitation des résultats.

Droit d’auteur et droit des dessins et modèles

Droit d’auteur

En matière de droit d’auteur et de droits voisins, l’équipe IP-IT est active dans le domaine de la création de mode et d’accessoires, pour accompagner les designers ou leurs employeurs et commanditaires (maisons de couture, joaillerie, maroquinerie…) et défendre leurs droits d’auteur. l’équipe est également experte dans la problématique du droit d’auteur protégeant les œuvres d’art, émanant de la commande publique (architecture) ou d’artistes indépendants (sculpteurs). Elle a notamment une bonne pratique des contrats d’exposition d’œuvres et une bonne connaissance des problématiques de droit d’auteur des musées dans la gestion de leurs collections.

UGGC Avocats a également une pratique et expertise de la production audiovisuelle, du droit à l’image et du droit de l’édition et traite des questions de droit d’auteur et de droits voisins s’y rapportant. Dans la lutte contre la contrefaçon de droits d’auteur sur Internet, le Cabinet conduit les procédures de « take down notice » et de mise en œuvre de la responsabilité des divers prestataires de communication en ligne.

Droit des dessins et modèles

UGGC Avocats assiste ses clients pour l’enregistrement de leurs dessins et modèles et la négociation des contrats d’exploitation afférents (cession, licence, coexistence), au niveau français, communautaire ou international. La protection des dessins et modèles et le contentieux les concernant sont généralement l’occasion d’examiner le cumul de protection par le droit d’auteur et le droit des marques tridimensionnelles. Cela vaut pour le secteur de la mode où le cumul de protections est fréquent mais concerne aussi les dessins et modèles industriels (ustensiles, arts de la table, objets de décoration, pièces détachées et objets connectés).


Découvrir l'équipe