Art Market

Art market law

For many years, UGGC Avocats has developed a recognized expertise in cultural heritage and art market law.

As a regular adviser to major public cultural institutions, the firm supports them in the conduct of their acquisition, rental, provision, insurance or management of works of art and cultural property.

UGGC Avocats also works for private institutions and foundations, auction houses, art galleries and collectors.

The firm intervenes in the negotiation and drafting of agreements and contracts relating to works of art and cultural goods: purchase and sale of works of art, contractual organization of exhibitions and cultural events, international private and public law for the international works of art’s circulation (purchases, sales, loans, cross-border transfers), taxation and customs obligations on the art market, copyright, etc.

The firm is also regularly mandated for property, origin or authenticity litigations, as well as in the context of major inheritance disputes and art market operations (classification, prohibition on leaving the territory, copyright).

Finally, UGGC Avocats deals with files relating to looted works of art.


Discover our team

Marché de l'art

Droit du marché de l’art

UGGC Avocats a développé depuis de nombreuses années une expertise reconnue en matière de droit du patrimoine culturel et du marché de l’art.

Conseil régulier de grandes institutions culturelles publiques, le cabinet les accompagne dans la conduite de leurs opérations d’acquisition, de location, de mise à disposition, d’assurance ou de gestion des œuvres d’art et des biens culturels.

UGGC Avocats intervient également pour des institutions privées et fondations, des maisons de ventes, des galeries d’art et des collectionneurs.

Il intervient pour la négociation et la rédaction des conventions et contrats portant sur des œuvres d’art et des biens culturels : achat et vente d’œuvre d’art, organisation contractuelle des expositions et des manifestations, droit international privé et public pour la circulation internationale des œuvres (achats, ventes, prêts, transferts transfrontaliers), fiscalité et obligations douanières du marché de l’art, droit d’auteur, etc.

Le cabinet est également régulièrement mandaté pour des contentieux de propriété, d’origine ou d’authenticité des œuvres d’art, ainsi que dans le cadre d’importantes contestations successorales et opérations du marché de l’art (classement, interdiction de sortie du territoire, droits d’auteur).

Enfin, UGGC Avocats intervient dans les dossiers relatifs aux œuvres spoliées.


Découvrir l'équipe