Charles-Emmanuel Prieur

Partner

I have spent my entire professional career at UGGC. I joined as an intern and immediately worked in the corporate law department and I became partner in 2006.

I like to deal with M&A and private equity transactions because it is always the occasion to be in contact with entrepreneurs. In an international take over operation involving an important group of companies just like in a fund raising transaction for a start-up, there is always a new profession and an original entrepreneurial project to discover. Our job then consists in showing that corporate law offers all the tools required so that the entrepreneur can complete his project.
UGGC & I

My entire professional career has been spent in this firm because I have found there an original entrepreneurial project which suits me perfectly.

Since it was created, the firm’s ambition has been to operate like a law company (i.e. a company practising law rather than a traditional firm of lawyers) and it involved setting up an efficient organization dedicated to its clients, providing them under the same roof all the technical expertise required to bring their projects to full realization. All of the firm’s multi-disciplinary departments can provide a legal answer with very high added value on all aspects of a project.
My practice

I advise industrial and commercial operators for their take over transactions and asset purchase operations.

I assist investment funds or company officers with their venture capital, investment capital or leverage buy out operations.

I also advise my clients on corporate law matters (regulatory, governance, management package) in the context of internal organization, and I defend them when they are involved in litigations or arbitrations in relation to equity capital operations and financings.

I have been working more closely with some sectors of activity in particular: new technologies, life sciences (health and biotechnology), defence activities, real estate and financial services.

Career and languages

  • Managing Partner, UGGC Law firm - 2006-2013
  • Partner UGGC Law Firm - Since 2006
  • Associate, UGGC Law Firm - 2003-2005
  • Admitted to the Paris Bar - 2003
  • Phd in corporate Law, Pau Law School - 2003
  • Master Degree (DESS) in Corporate Law, Paris V-René Descartes Law School - 2002
  • Legal consultant, UGGC Law Firm - 1997-2003
  • French
  • English
  • Spanish

Charles-Emmanuel Prieur

Associé

J’ai fait toute ma carrière professionnelle au sein d’UGGC. Arrivé comme stagiaire j’ai immédiatement travaillé au sein de l’équipe de droit des sociétés dont je suis devenu associé en 2006.

J’aime intervenir dans des dossiers de fusions-acquisitions et de private equity parce que cela me permet de côtoyer des entrepreneurs. Dans une opération de croissance externe d’un grand groupe comme dans une levée de fonds d’une start-up il y a toujours la découverte d’un nouveau métier et d’un projet d’entreprise original. Notre métier, c’est alors de montrer que le droit des sociétés offre tous les outils nécessaires pour permettre à l’entrepreneur de réaliser son projet particulier.

UGGC & moi

J’ai fait toute ma carrière au sein du cabinet puisque j’y ai trouvé un projet d’entreprise original qui me correspond parfaitement.

Le cabinet a eu depuis sa création l’ambition de fonctionner comme une entreprise du droit c’est-à-dire de mettre en place une organisation efficace tournée vers le client, de lui apporter en un seul lieu l’ensemble des compétences techniques nécessaires à la réalisation de ces projets. L’ensemble des départements pluridisciplinaires du cabinet permet d’apporter une réponse juridique à haute valeur ajoutée sur tous les aspects d’un projet.

Ma pratique

Je conseille des opérateurs industriels et commerciaux dans leurs opérations de croissance externe et d’acquisitions d’actifs.

J’interviens pour le compte de fonds d’investissement ou de dirigeants dans le cadre d’opération de capital-risque, capital-investissement ou LBO.

Je conseille également mes clients en matière structuration interne de droit des sociétés (regulatory, gouvernance, management package) et je les défends dans le cadre de contentieux ou arbitrages liés à des opérations de haut de bilan et de financements.

Je suis intervenu plus particulièrement dans certains secteurs d’activité : nouvelles technologiques, sciences de la vie (santé et biotechnologie), activités de défense, immobilier et services financiers.

carrière et langues

  • Associé gérant, UGGC Avocats - 2012 à aujourd'hui
  • Avocat, Barreau de Bruxelles - 2010
  • Associé, UGGC Avocats - 2006 à aujourd'hui
  • Avocat, UGGC Avocats - 2003-2005
  • Avocat, Barreau de Paris - 2003
  • Docteur en Droit, Université de Pau et des Pays de l’Adour - 2003
  • DESS de juriste d’affaires, Université de Paris V-René Descartes - 2002
  • Juriste, UGGC Avocats - 1997-2003
  • Français
  • Anglais

Références

Classement 2017 – Private Equity Magazine

UGGC Avocats est dans le top 3 des cabinets les plus actifs pour les opérations de LBO et de Cap Dev (0-75M€) en 2016 selon le classement de Private Equity Magazine avec 37 opérations conseillées. Private Equity Magazine, Mars 2017.

Publications