• French
  • English

Edouard Caupert

Partner
Offices / Paris office

UGGC & I

Like many of the firm’s partners, I am an example of the training and mentoring that UGGC Avocats can provide to its attorneys.

After an internship in 2009, I was admitted the Paris Bar in 2010, I became Senior Counsel in 2016 and joined the Partners’ College in 2020.

I am therefore very attached to this firm and to the public business law department, in which I learned a profession that I am passionate about.

My practice

I mainly advise clients in public procurement law, both as counsel and litigator, for public entities and private operators confronted with problems of contract award or performance. In this particular field, I am convinced that quality advice can only be provided by lawyers with solid litigation experience, in all its aspects (summary proceedings, judicial expertise, financial claims, compensation actions, etc.).

I also assist the firm’s clients in the field of administrative liability of public entities, in particular to seek compensation for economic damages resulting from normative activity. Public entities (the State, local authorities and public establishments) may be held liable for actions that cause harm to economic operators, either because of non-existent or insufficient regulations, or because of a failure to exercise their prerogatives. This responsibility may result, in particular, from a violation of international treaties or a disregard of the Constitution, thanks to the procedure of Priority Question of Constitutionality (PQC). I assist the firm’s clients at every stage of their claim: determination of the loss, formulation of the claim for compensation, possible negotiations and, if necessary, legal proceedings.

Finally, I have skills in public criminal and disciplinary law, mainly for breaches of the duty of probity. This practice is intrinsically linked to the two previous ones, because it requires a perfect mastery of the rules applicable to public entities and their agents, who may be accused of breaches by the criminal courts or by disciplinary bodies.

For all these areas of work, I can count on the expertise and experience of the firm’s other departments, in order to provide a comprehensive response to clients’ questions, but also to implement litigation actions involving referral to several levels of jurisdiction.

Rankings

Legal 500 2021 – UGGC ranked band 2 in Administrative and Public Law

UGGC is honored to be ranked band 2 among the best law firms in the 2021 edition of the Legal 500 Guide in Administrative and Public Law.   Analysis of Legal 500: « UGGC Avocats has a large and experienced team that has gained the trust of which many leading public and private sector companies, including major […]

Palmarès du Droit 2021 – UGGC wins the Golden Trophy in Public Law!

UGGC Law Firm is honored to have received the Golden Trophy in Public Law at the 9th edition of the Palmarès du Droit organized by Le Monde du Droit in partnership with the French Association of Corporate Lawyers (AFJE).   A true barometer of the profession, the Palmarès du Droit allows law firms to situate […]

Leaders League 2021 – UGGC ranked in 3 categories in Public Law

UGGC is proud to be ranked in 3 categories among the best law firms in the 2021 edition of the 2021 edition of Leaders League – Public Law. The firm is ranked : Excellent in PPP contracts: structuring – mid cap Strong reputation in urban planning and development Excellent in market regulation Click on the […]

Legal 500 2020 – UGGC Law Firm ranked in Administrative and Public law

UGGC Law Firm is ranked band 3 among the best law firms in the 2020 edition of the Legal 500 guide in Administrative and Public law.   Quote 2020 of The Legal 500: “UGGC Avocats has a strong 13-lawyer team whose expertise is particularly sought after for public law contracts and public infrastructure projects. The […]

Leaders League – Public & Corporate players 2020 – UGGC ranked in 7 categories

UGGC is proud to be once again, ranked in 7 categories among the best law firms in the 2020 edition of the guide Leaders League – Public & Corporate players The firm is ranked : Undisputed in administrative contracts and related disputes Excellent in public affairs Excellent in PPP contracts: structuring – mid cap Excellent […]



Career

  • Partner, UGGC Law Firm - 2020
  • Senior Associate, UGGC Law Firm - 2016
  • Associate, UGGC Law Firm - 2010
  • Associate, UGGC Law Firm - 2010
  • Bar of the Paris Court of Appeal - 2009
  • Graduate of the Institut de Droit Public des Affaires - 2009
  • Master degree of Public Law of economy, University of Paris II Panthéon - Assas - 2008
  • Intern – Ministry of Interior, Directorate of Civil Liberties and Legal Affairs - (March-July 2008)

• Français
  • Anglais

Edouard Caupert

Associé
Bureaux / Paris

UGGC & moi

Comme beaucoup de mes associés, je suis un exemple de la formation et de la promotion que le cabinet UGGC Avocats peut offrir à ses collaborateurs.

Après un stage en 2009 et une prestation de serment en 2010, je suis devenu consultant du cabinet en 2016 et j’ai ensuite rejoint le collège des associés en 2020.

Je suis donc très attaché à ce cabinet et au département de Droit Public des Affaires, au sein duquel j’ai appris un métier qui me passionne.

Ma pratique

J’interviens principalement en droit de la commande publique, en conseil comme en contentieux, pour le compte de personnes publiques et d’opérateurs privés confrontés à des problématiques de passation ou d’exécution contractuelle. Dans ce domaine particulier, je suis convaincu que des conseils de qualité ne peuvent être délivrés que par des avocats ayant une solide expérience contentieuse, sous tous ses aspects (référés, expertises judiciaires, réclamations financières, actions indemnitaires, etc.).

J’accompagne également les clients du cabinet dans le domaine de la responsabilité administrative des personnes publiques, notamment pour solliciter la réparation de préjudices économiques consécutifs à l’activité normative. Les personnes publiques (Etat, collectivités territoriales et établissements publics) peuvent voir leur responsabilité engagée en raison d’agissements ayant causé un préjudice à des opérateurs économiques, en raison d’une réglementation inexistante ou insuffisante, ou encore en raison d’une défaillance dans l’exercice de leurs prérogatives. Cette responsabilité peut notamment résulter d’une violation de traités internationaux ou d’une méconnaissance de la Constitution, grâce à la procédure de Question Prioritaire de Constitutionnalité (QPC). J’accompagne les clients du cabinet dans toutes les étapes de leur réclamation, qu’il s’agisse de la détermination du préjudice, de la formulation de la demande indemnitaire, des éventuelles négociations et, le cas échéant, de la procédure juridictionnelle.

Je dispose enfin d’une compétence en matière de Droit Pénal Public et Disciplinaire, essentiellement pour des manquements au devoir de probité. Cette pratique est intrinsèquement liée aux deux précédentes, car elle nécessite une parfaite maîtrise des règles applicables aux personnes publiques et à leurs agents, à qui des manquements peuvent être reprochés par les juridictions pénales ou par des instances disciplinaires.

Pour l’ensemble de ces domaines d’intervention, je peux compter sur la compétence et sur l’expérience des autres départements du cabinet, afin d’offrir une réponse complète aux interrogations des clients, mais aussi afin de mettre en œuvre des actions contentieuses impliquant la saisine de plusieurs ordres juridictionnels.

Références

Best Lawyers 2022 – UGGC Avocats, reconnu « Law Firm of the Year » en Droit Public des Affaires et 11 associés distingués « Best Lawyers »!

Nous sommes fiers de vous annoncer que le cabinet UGGC Avocats est reconnu « Law Firm of the Year » en Droit Public des Affaires par le palmarès Best Lawyers 2022 !   Nous adressons également toutes nos félicitations aux 11 associés du cabinet reconnus « Best Lawyers » dans leurs expertises respectives : Jean-Jacques Uettwiller en Arbitrage et […]

Legal 500 2021 – UGGC classé tiers 2 en droit Public et Administratif

UGGC Avocats est honoré d’être classé tiers 2 parmi les meilleurs cabinets d’avocats dans l’édition 2021 du guide Legal 500 en droit Public et Administratif.   Analyse de Legal 500 :   « UGGC Avocats has a large and experienced team that has gained the trust of which many leading public and private sector companies, including major […]

Palmarès du Droit 2021 – UGGC Avocats remporte le Trophée d’Or en Droit Public !

Le cabinet UGGC est honoré d’avoir reçu le Trophée d’Or en matière de Droit Public à l’occasion de la 9ème édition du Palmarès du Droit organisé par Le Monde du Droit  en partenariat avec l’Association Française des Juristes d’Entreprise (AFJE).   Véritable baromètre de la profession, le Palmarès du Droit permet aux cabinets d’avocats de […]

Legal 500 2020 – UGGC Avocats classé en matière de Droit Public et Administratif

UGGC Avocats est classé tiers 3 parmi les meilleurs cabinets d’avocats dans l’édition 2020 du guide Legal 500 en matière de Droit Public et Administratif.   Analyse de Legal 500 : « UGGC Avocats est doté d’une équipe d’une douzaine d’avocats dont l’expertise est particulièrement estimée en matière de contrats publics et de grands projets. Le […]

Décideurs – Acteurs Publics & Entreprises 2020 – UGGC Avocats classé dans 7 catégories

UGGC Avocats est fier d’être à nouveau classé dans 7 catégories parmi les meilleurs cabinets d’avocats dans l’édition 2020 du guide Décideurs – Acteurs Publics & Entreprises. Le cabinet est classé : Incontournable en matière de contrats administratifs et contentieux afférents Excellent en matière de domanialité publique Excellent en matière de contrats de PPP : structuration […]



Carrière et distinctions professionnelles

  • Associé, UGGC Avocats - 2020
  • Consultant, UGGC Avocats - 2016
  • Collaborateur, UGGC Avocats - 2010
  • Barreau de la Cour d’appel de Paris - 2009
  • Diplômé de l’Institut de Droit Public des Affaires - 2009
  • Master 2 de Droit public de l’économie, Université Paris II Panthéon - Assas - 2008
  • Stagiaire, Ministère de l’intérieur, Direction des libertés publiques et des affaires juridiques - 2008